Dietary requirements to be aware of

When hosting a dinner party these days, there is bound to be someone attending with some kind of dietary requirement.
You’ll have heard of most of them, but to make it easy we’ve included all the main restrictions below:

Vegan –

A plant based diet with no animal products. Vegans don’t eat meat, fish, eggs or dairy products

Ovo-Vegetarian –

Eat mostly plants in addition to eggs. They do not eat dairy products, meat or fish

Lacto-Vegetarian –

Eat mostly plants in addition to dairy products. They do not eat eggs, meat or fish

Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian –

Eat mostly plants in addition to dairy products and eggs. They do not eat meat or fish

Check out this bunch of great veggie recipes

Pescetarian –

Vegetarian diet but they also eat fish. They do not eat meat

Lactose Intolerance –

Lactose is the sugar found in milk and dairy products, so these must be avoided

Diabetic –

Diabetics need to continuously monitor their blood sugar levels as they aren’t able to produce insulin. It’s best to limit the number of high-fat foods they eat and offer alternative low-sugar drinks and desserts.


Common allergies to be aware of:

Milk –

An allergy to cows milk is most common in infants and children. Typically they do not eat cows milk or cows milk products such as cheese, cream, butter and yoghurt

Egg –

Second most common in children, almost some outgrow their allergy to eggs. Any egg based products are to be avoided such as ice cream, mayonnaise and fresh pasta (always check the label, some are egg free)

Soy –

Part of the legume family, soybeans or soy products are found in a high number of processed foods. Products to avoid are edamame, miso and tofu. Soy can also be found in Asian cuisine, processed meats and soaps/moisturisers

Wheat –

This grain product is the basis of a lot of main meals, for example it’s found in rice, oats and quinoa. It’s best to avoid products such as pasta, flour and couscous. Unexpected items that may include wheat include beer, breakfast cereal and salad dressing. Please note – buckwheat (despite the name) is not related to wheat and is considered safe

Shellfish –

There are two shellfish groups: crustacea (such as shrimp, crab and lobster) and mollusks (such as clams, mussels, oysters and scallops). To be safe, those allergic to shellfish should steer clear of all fish restaurants and any places that prepare fish or fish markets as there are high risks of cross contamination. Products such as krill, lobster, barnacle and prawns should be avoided, as well as products such as Bouillabaisse sauce, cuttlefish ink and surimi. Allergic reactions can be fatal

Nut –

A peanut allergy is not to be mistaken with a tree but allergy (cashews, walnuts and almonds, for example) although those that suffer with a peanut allergy are more likely to also be allergic to tree nuts. It’s recommended to avoid all food containing nuts or traces of nuts, even artificial nuts. Unexpected items that may contain nuts can include African and Asian food cuisine, pancake and pizzas. Allergic reactions can be fatal
Information sourced from here and here.

Entertaining guests? Check out our full entertaining guide here.